Reversepilgrims Blog

a northwest family moves to the UK

drink me June 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — reversepilgrims @ 5:14 pm

My husband forwarded the email to me 3 minutes after he received it. “Your application has been approved and the visa has been issued. Sincerely, Queen Elizabeth” OK, I made that last part up, but it’s official–they are letting us in.

One could say that I should have known this was coming, but I am learning that there is little correlation between my idea of the milestones we will pass as this adventure unfolds and how I actually feel when they fall out of the sky and hit me on the head. I’m glad I was sitting down.

I imagine only Alice in Wonderland would nod in understanding at my description of the mixture of dread and triumph and the sinking, swirling sensation in the pit of my stomach. Our bottle just has a different label.

 

One Response to “drink me”

  1. Peggy Reichard Says:

    Wow! Erin, you should have been a writer. It is fun to read your updates and emotions as you all prepare to fly away. You are in my thoughts and prayers.


Leave a Reply

