Reversepilgrims Blog

a northwest family moves to the UK

French lessons September 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — reversepilgrims @ 9:10 am

“We’re learning French!”, my nine-year-old told me about a week ago. I mentally placed a check mark in the ‘definitely worth it’ column regarding our recent move to the UK, as it would have been 5 years before he learned a foreign language back home.

“What did you learn?”, I asked.

“Bon Jour, Mademoiselle!”, he piped up, “it means hello to a girl” he said with a cheeky smile. Well, that’s useful, I thought. His accent even sounded quite French, too. “Great job!”, I exclaimed in my best proud mom voice.

About two weeks later…

“We learned more French today!”

“Oh, what did you learn?”

(insert French for “where do you live?” here)

“So, let me get this straight, you’ve learned how to say hello to a girl and then ask her where she lives?”

(insert a speechless nine year old boy here)

What ever happened to learning the basics like the alphabet and how to count? How about ‘Can you please tell me where the bathroom is?’ or a simple ‘Thank you’? I took three years of Spanish and all I remember is how to ask someone if they like to play volleyball and the words for shirt, pants and shoes. And, I do not recall speed dating being on the syllabus.

Being the trusting soul that I am, I have to assume they know what they are doing. I’m sure they taught the children an array of French phrases and my son simply chose to remember the two that will come in handy as a twenty-something tourist, or for that summer job as a taxi driver in Paris.

My husband, as you may imagine, found this all quite amusing. He even gave our son a big thumbs up and a high five. It doesn’t take a genetic test to determine where my son gets his selective memory.

 

One Response to “French lessons”

  1. Judy Buskirk Says:

    Oh Erin YOU MAKE ME LAUGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Chuckle busting giggling. BB must know I am reading your blog.
    Do you know how professional your writing is?????
    I tell you EVERY TIME. Your adventures in Brit/land are
    a ray of sunshine in this, as you know, dreary white sky part
    of the world. Are the MISTS ON THE MOORS there yet?
    Your pal, the non-traveler….I only READ about the mists on
    the moors.

    Judy P.S. Lucy Boston – GREAT CHILDREN’S BOOK WRITER
    lived in a centuries old house called “Green Knowe” lived in the North Country of England. Perhaps your kiddoes would enjoy…THE SEA EGG, or the first of the GREEN KNOWE books. I loved them as an adult, after learning of her existence in a lit. course. I actually wrote her and received a reply!!!! She has long since died.


Leave a Reply

